Spinach Cream Cheese Quiche

How was your weekend so far? Mine was started with me (fighting myself to) returning to a nearby park for a morning yoga practice. I used to go there almost every morning to practice by myself, but had stopped a few months back due to time conflict (in other words, preparing lunch box consumes all the restricted time I have in the morning before going to work). It was nice this morning, the air was not too hot and I sweat just enough to feel happy and healthy.

For lunch, I made spinach cream cheese quiche. I have only tried it once at Au Parc and it was love at first bite. It turned out nice, but wet. However, CX helped me to finish it in no time, as usual.

Normally cooking is the best therapeutic time for me. I often find myself meditating through the whole process. It’s even more rewarding seeing everything I cook consumed wholeheartedly by my husband. Today was different. I was interrupted by calls and had to deal with a drama from work for an upcoming event. It was truly a “yoga moment” that my yoga teacher often talked about. Well, good news is I got over it and did not let it ruin my peaceful morning. I’m so thankful I have a supportive and patient husband!

Here’s how I made the quiche.

* Crust:

-80g cold butter

– 1 1/2 cup flour

– About 4 tbs milk/ cold water

Use fingers to mix the flour and butter together. Add just enough milk/water to hold the dough together. Roll out the dough and form a crust in a 25 cm pie pan. Put in refrigerator.

Note: I put the dough in the freezer for about 40 minutes before rolling it out.

 

* Filling:

– 85g cream cheese at room temperature

– 200g spinach, chopped, squeeze off water

– 3 eggs

– 1/3 cup milk

– 1/2 cup chopped onion

– 1 cup cherry tomato, halved

– 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper to taste

– Parmesan & Cheddar cheese

Preheat the oven 180 C.

Beat the cream cheese until smooth, add eggs, onion, salt, pepper.

Stir in spinach, half of the cheese. Pour the mixture into the crust pan.

Add the rest of the cheese and cherry tomato.

Bake for 40 minutes until crush is golden brown and filling is set.

Serve with salad of your choice. I made a quick one using the leftover spinach and shredded carrot, mixed in Italian dressing (weird combination, no?)

* Lessons learned:

The quiche turned out quite nice, but a bit wet. I guess it was because of (a) water from the spinach or (b) not enough baking time or (c) too much cream cheese or (d) all of the above. Next time I may want to:

– Pre-bake the crust

– Use larger/more eggs. Helped to set the filling better

– Reduce the cream cheese (I actually used about 150g)

– Use the food processor to chop the spinach finer

– Bake longer (plus 10 minutes)

If you try out this recipe, please let me know the result!

Thank you so much for reading. Have a blast!

Namaste!

Leave a Reply

